Releases > King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard > Gumboot Soup

Gumboot Soup

Release Date: 2017-12-29
Buy on: Bandcamp   Discogs   Gizzverse US   Spotify   Apple Music   Amazon   YouTube MusicTags: Studio

Our minds unpack, muscles relax
We are superfluous, and in a stupor
We only fall asleep willingly
At the wheel that steers us into our future

After four studio albums and two international tours in 2017 alone, one would think KGLW were done for the year. With one more promised, something had to be done with all the extra material that either didn’t fit on, or was developed separate from the first four of the year. Gumboot Soup is an eclectic mix of songs; some exist ‘between’ albums with the concept of one and the sound of another, others simply too good to rot in the vault waiting for a future project to fit into. Don’t be fooled into thinking of these as B-sides. Gumboot Soup is the high quality culmination of the insane project to release five studio albums in one calendar year, arriving just in time in the last days of December.

What to listen to next:

If you want an earlier lo-fi eclectic concept-less album
If you want the newest eclectic concept-less album
If you want an album full of heavy songs like ‘The Great Chain of Being’
If you want to hear the album which ‘Superposition’ didn’t quite fit into
If you want to hear the album ‘All Is Known’ would’ve been on if it wasn’t made during this one
If you liked the laid-back Pop sounds of ‘Beginner’s Luck’, ‘I’m Sleepin’ In’, and ‘The Wheel’

I’m familiar with the main albums and want to go deeper:

If you want to hear more songs that lend a ‘peak behind the curtain’ of the creative process

Album Credits

Gumboot Soup - ℗ & © 2017 Flightless Records - Used by permission.

• Tracks 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11 recorded by Stu at Flightless HQ
• Tracks 2, 7 recorded by Stu at Rada Studios, Perth, with additional recording at Flightless HQ
• Tracks 3, 6 recorded by Cooky on his phone with additional recording by Stu at Flightless HQ
• Track 5 recorded by Joey in his bedroom
• Additional recording on tracks, 2, 4, 5 by Stu at Whammy Bar, Auckland

• Tracks 1, 7, 8 Mixed by Michael Badger
• Tracks 2, 5 mixed by Joey
• Tracks 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11 mixed by Stu

• Mastered by Joseph Carra

• Artwork and layout by Jason Galea
• Photography by Jamie Wdziekonski

Side Position Track Track Length Times Played Live Notes
1 1 Beginner's Luck 4:25 18
1 2 Greenhouse Heat Death 4:13 24
1 3 Barefoot Desert 3:43 0
1 4 Muddy Water 3:38 72
1 5 Superposition 3:35 0
1 6 Down the Sink 3:59 10
1 7 The Great Chain of Being 4:50 33
1 8 The Last Oasis 3:34 0
1 9 All Is Known 3:34 68
1 10 I'm Sleepin' In 3:00 0
1 11 The Wheel 5:37 35

Back to Releases

Powered by Songfish