Releases > King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard > Polygondwanaland


Release Date: 2017-11-17
Listen and Buy: Bandcamp   Discogs   Gizzverse US   Spotify   Apple Music   Amazon   YouTube MusicTags: Official Bootlegger   Studio

We’re gonna get there
Follow where the river runs
We’re gonna get there

Polygondwanaland is hard to deny as the first opus of the group. Developed for at least three years, this extra care clearly shows in the end product. Clean, meticulous, proggy and mathy, the primary ‘gimmick’ is that the album is composed entirely in a dizzying array of polymeters and polyrythms (simply put, each musical voice plays in a different time signature).

This psychedelic folklore voyage both expands and deepens the Gizzverse in a multi-act structure that uses subtle spoken word narration to explore the vast sands of time.

Such a special album was deemed to get a special release, so as a gift to the fans, was given away for free; not just free as in ‘free beer’, but completely free of copyright under a creative commons attribution license, meaning anyone could (and still can!) create and sell their own edition of the album using the raw master files and art assets made available. At the time of writing, over 300 different editions are available on at least 15 formats (including reel-to-reel, minidisc, floppy disc, and just about every existing size and type of vinyl record). This release was the experiment that led to the creation of the Official Bootlegger program, and is now included there. Several record labels now exist that were established or launched just to publish this album that will forever hold a special place in the heart of many KGLW fans.

What to listen to next:

If you want the next Gizzverse album (technical and heavy)
If you want another strongly narrative driven multi-act album
If you want more simple rhythmic interplay between synths and the band
If you liked the hints of folk and want more of just that
If this was too ‘deep’ and you want to hear more of what led up to it

Album Credits

Polygondwanaland - ℗ & © 2017 ATO Records - Used by permission.

• Mixed by Sam Joseph
• Mastered by Joe Carra
• Produced by Stu Mackenzie
• Artwork and layout by Jason Galea
• Tracks 2-5 and 7+8 recorded by Casey Hartnett at 255 Lygon St, Brunswick East
• Searching… and Loyalty recorded by Stu Mackenzie at 255 Lygon St, Brunswick East
• Crumbling Castle and The Fourth Colour recorded by Ryan K. Brennan at Tender Trap Studios, Melbourne
• Additional recording by Stu Mackenzie and Joey Walker at 255 Lygon St, Brunswick East

Side Position Track Track Length Times Played Live Notes
1 1 Crumbling Castle 10:44 139
1 2 Polygondwanaland 3:32 6
1 3 The Castle in the Air 2:47 61
1 4 Deserted Dunes Welcome Weary Feet 3:33 63
1 5 Inner Cell 3:55 34
1 6 Loyalty 3:38 36
1 7 Horology 2:52 36
1 8 Tetrachromacy 3:30 2
1 9 Searching... 3:03 0
1 10 The Fourth Colour 6:12 113

Back to Releases

Powered by Songfish