Releases > King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard > Nonagon Infinity

Nonagon Infinity

Release Date: 2016-04-29
Listen and Buy: Bandcamp   Discogs   Gizzverse US   Spotify   Apple Music   Amazon   YouTube MusicTags: Studio

Loosen up
Time to drop
Fuck shit up
Don’t forget about it

‘Nonagon Infinity opens the door’, this self-mythologising nod to Aldous Huxley’s Doors of Perception plunges you straight into the album – a faster, more intense frontier of Heavy-Psych. The phrase also became the first big meme in the KGLW fan base, who were now galvanized in song for the first time with a title: the ‘Weirdo Swarm’.

In several ways the sequel to I’m In Your Mind Fuzz, Nonagon Infinity was the next big international breakthrough since that album. As well as doubling down on a signature sound for the band, it was also the first true full-length concept record, successfully completing an idea abandoned during the recording of I’m In Your Mind Fuzz.

The record is titled for this concept, featuring nine songs that all seamlessly transition (including the last track back into the first), forming an endless loop. This cycle is signified by the nonagon on the album artwork, superimposed over the mountain castle also from the I’m In Your Mind Fuzz cover, defining it as the linchpin of the Gizzverse – the scene now beginning to draw significance akin to several other pivotal high-grounds, such as those found in the universes of Stephen King, J.R.R. Tolkien, H.P. Lovecraft, and even Alejandro Jodorowsky's Holy Mountain.

What to listen to next:

If you want the next Gizzverse album (heavier and more conceptual)
If you want the album that best precedes this
If you prefer less fuzz and more prog
If you want more energy and a heavier sound
If you want high energy and even more fuzz

Album Credits

Nonagon Infinity - ℗ & © 2016 Flightless Records - Used by permission.

This album is for the road crew who put up with us in our big black bus while we were writing/playing/recording this album.

Joe Santarpia, Sam Fromlr, Roberto Pagano, Jason Galea, Jamie Wdziekonski, Pooneh Ghana, Philippa Gleeson, Tessa Parsons, Jay Bauer - we love you very, very, much xoxox

• All songs written by Stu Mackenzie and performed by King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
• Mixed by Michael Badger with additional tweaking by Stu
• Mastered by Joe Carra
• Artwork by Jason Galea
• Photography by Danny Cohen
• Mostly recorded by Wayne Gordon at Daptone, New York except most of Big Fig Wasp and parts of People-Vultures and Invisible Face recorded by Paul Maybury at A Secret Location, Melbourne.
• Most of the vocals recorded by Michael Badger in his bungalow except for a bunch of additional vocals along with other bits and pieces recorded by Stu at Flightless.

Side Position Track Track Length Times Played Live Notes
1 1 Robot Stop 5:22 291
1 2 Big Fig Wasp 4:54 92
1 3 Gamma Knife 4:21 259
1 4 People-Vultures 4:45 185
1 5 Mr. Beat 4:56 48
1 6 Evil Death Roll 7:14 115
1 7 Invisible Face 3:01 41
1 8 Wah Wah 2:54 84
1 9 Road Train 4:18 65

Back to Releases

Powered by Songfish