Releases > King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard > The Silver Cord

The Silver Cord

Release Date: 2023-10-27
Listen and Buy: Bandcamp   Gizzverse   Discogs   Spotify   Apple Music   Amazon   YouTube MusicTags: Studio

As ‘Yin’ to PetroDragonic Apocalypse…’s ‘Yang’, The Silver Cord picks up on the same world ending narrative; and gets its opposing tone from being the band’s first album performed entirely on electronic instruments (aside from a single Piano overdub). This soundscape and campy aesthetic pay homage to Kraftwerk-style early techno, and provide a suitable basis for Joey’s various tastes in club beats, Stu’s heady vocals, and some of ‘Shrimpomaniac’s wacky raps.

The recording was bounced to analogue tape and back for the ‘extra-real sounding filter’ to accompany the liberated composition-by-jamming process; the last in a batch of albums written and recorded in this way since the pandemic.

Strangely, this can be considered as both their longest and shortest album to date, being cut into two versions: a 28 minute standard edition, and an 88 minute (8 minutes more than the previous longest runtime of Omnium Gatherum) extended mix designed as the true experience for fans.

What to listen to next:

If you want to hear the opposing heavy-metal narrative counterpart to this album
If you want to hear another positive sounding synth-loop based album
If you want to hear another jammy electronic album with sporadic vocal raps

I’m familiar with the main albums and want to go deeper:

If you want to hear a King Gizzard remix album for fans of electronic production

Side Position Track Track Length Times Played Live Notes
1 1 Theia 3:24 1
1 2 The Silver Cord 4:20 2
1 3 Set 3:56 0
1 4 Chang'e 3:46 0
1 5 Gilgamesh 3:43 0
1 6 Swan Song 4:25 0
1 7 Extinction 4:40 3
2 1 Theia 20:41 1 (Extended Mix)
2 2 The Silver Cord 12:45 2 (Extended Mix)
2 3 Set 10:18 0 (Extended Mix)
2 4 Chang'e 10:46 0 (Extended Mix)
2 5 Gilgamesh 11:16 0 (Extended Mix)
2 6 Swan Song 10:29 0 (Extended Mix)
2 7 Extinction 12:28 3 (Extended Mix)
3 1 Space Junk 4:32 0 (vinyl hidden bonus track)
3 2 Plasma 3:10 0 (vinyl hidden bonus track)
3 3 Embryo 4:02 0 (vinyl hidden bonus track)

Back to Releases

Powered by Songfish