Releases > King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard > Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms and Lava

Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms and Lava

Release Date: 2022-10-07
Listen and Buy: Bandcamp   Discogs   Gizzverse US   Spotify   Apple Music   Amazon   YouTube MusicTags: Studio

New permutations
Needlepoint mutilations
Stick the fork in the powerpoint to be perturbed by revelations

Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms, And Lava is the logical conclusion of a King Gizzard jam album. Each word from the title represents a ‘totem’ chosen by each member of the band; which was then paired with one of the Greek modes, making the only preparation for an extended multi-hour jam that was later trimmed down into each song.

The most collaboratively composed album to date, the band breeze through various ideas, narrowing down on the best by oscillating between simple poetic lyrics and extended instrumental sections to produce one of their trippiest, and surprisingly most consistent records.

What to listen to next:

If you like extended jazzy guitar jamming
If you liked the unusual sound of ‘Gliese 710’ and want another album in a non-standard mode
If you want more dark, apocalyptic lyrics mismatched with jamming grooves
If you want more continuous, energetic jamming

Album Credits

Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms And Lava - ℗ & © 2022 KGLW - Used by permission.

• Recorded by Stu Mackenzie
• Mixed by Stu Mackenzie
• Produced by Stu Mackenzie
• Mastered by Joe Carra
• Performed by King Gizz on on Wurrundjeri land
• Cover art, photography and layout by Jason Galea
• Special thanks to Nico Wilson

Side Position Track Track Length Times Played Live Notes
1 1 Mycelium 7:35 0
1 2 Ice V 10:15 41
1 3 Magma 9:06 39
1 4 Lava 6:41 14
1 5 Hell's Itch 13:27 0
1 6 Iron Lung 9:04 44
1 7 Gliese 710 7:48 0

Back to Releases

Powered by Songfish